This post may contain affiliate links. If you click on a link and decide to buy, I make a small commission for referring you. This helps me make a few cents for doing what I love.

I am a huge fan of fantasy books. I love discovering a new world full of magic and unique creatures. Whenever I would mention this fact to other avid readers, they would frequently suggest the Mistborn, also known as The Final Empire. I’m very wary about reading books that have a huge hype around them. Normally, they aren’t that good, or it takes a long time for me to get the book at the local library.

Disclosure: I am an Amazon affiliate. If you click on a link and decide to buy something I will get pennies for referring you. This in no way changes the price for you. It just helps me make a bit for doing what I love.

The world of Mistborn

After running out of other books I decided to check The Final Empire out and it is amazing! The world that Brandon Sanderson created is truly a masterpiece. I love the unique version of metal magic, and how it obeys the laws of nature and physics. The books in this series look at thought topics and moral decisions that the main characters are faced with. I also like how Sanderson combines myth and legends with religion and folklore. Those aspects combined with the political implications, and new friendships really deepen this story and bring it to life.

The Final Empire is the beginning of a six-book series. The first three books are commonly known as the Mistborn series. These books follow the story of Vin and her friends as they try to forge a new world. The next books take place hundreds of years in the future. Those books are commonly referred to as the Wax and Wayne books. They are similar to the Mandalorian with a western meets futuristic fantasy vibes. I personally am a bigger fan of the second series, but the Mistborn series is also very good.

The Final Empire Synopsis

The Final Empire takes place in a fantasy world. They have been ruled by a tyrant emperor for over a thousand years. Since his rise, the sun hasn’t been seen. Ash constantly falls from the sky, and food is hard to come by. An Allomancer (someone who can use metal magic) and his apprentice decide to pull a fast one on the society they are bent on bringing down. They pretend to be nobility to sneak into high society, and Vin has to learn the in’s and out’s of being a lady. Their goal: to restore justice and bring back the sun. Vin is our leading lady in this book. She is the secret weapon that will help them overthrow the Emperor, but she must learn how to play nice.

Parent Guide

Overall: PG-13

Violence: PG-13 They are trying to overthrow a dictatorship and start a war so there is quite a bit of violence.

Language: PG-13 because a few of the characters like to swear

Adult Content: G None!

Reading Level: Grade 7 – Adult

What to read after The Final Empire

If you loved The Final Empire make sure to read continue the series with The Well of Ascension. Another option is to skip to the second half of the series the Wax and Wayne series. The first book of that series is Alloy of Law. You might also like The Alchemyst, and Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone.

Need more book recommendations? Here are some of my favorite fast-paced books. Another great place to find books with female protagonists is on this list. The magic in this book is very unique. Here are more books featuring different types of magic. If you are still having a problem figuring out what to read, send me a message. I’ll work with you individually to discover your next great read!

Happy Reading!


This post may contain affiliate links. If you click on a link and decide to buy, I make a small commission for referring you. This helps me make a few cents for doing what I love.